Home > Travel Styles > Juken-sei no Yado 2027: Exam-Stay Booking & Common Test Hotel Rates

Juken-sei no Yado 2027: Exam-Stay Booking & Common Test Hotel Rates

Posted: 2026.11.03

Travel Styles

When people search for “Juken-sei no Yado 2027” (受験生の宿, “lodging for exam takers”), the product they are looking for is Nippon Travel (日本旅行)’s booking page for university entrance-exam candidates, “Juken-sei no Yado / Hotel Yoyaku” (受験生の宿・ホテル予約) (the heading on the page reads “Convenient Inns and Hotels for Exams,” 受験に便利な宿・ホテル予約). You search it by university name, and the whole booking is completed on Nippon Travel’s official website. It differs from regular hotel booking sites in three ways: you can search by university name, you can see a services field showing things like study desks and desk-lamp rentals, and you can book one person in one room. Neither is simply better. The practical approach is to check the same dates on both and use each for what it does well. This article states only facts we could confirm on the official page, and marks anything the official page does not mention as “Not stated” (checked November 1, 2026).

Key Takeaways
  • — “Juken-sei no Yado” is Nippon Travel’s booking page for exam candidates. You can search by university name (31 major universities listed, plus search by initial syllable) or by the area around the exam venue, and you can book packages with JR/Shinkansen trains or flights.
  • — One person per room is accepted. Minors need a parental consent form, sent by fax or mail. The official page does not state the booking start date, cancellation policy, or perks, so check each booking screen.
  • — For the night before the Common Test, median rates (per room for 2 guests, tax included, collected November 1, 2026) are about 20–40% higher on the night of the 16th than on the 15th. In Hongo, Tokyo, the median goes from ¥15,750 to ¥20,400.
  • — The difference from regular booking sites is the way in, not quality. The safe approach is to look up your target university on “Juken-sei no Yado,” then check the same dates on a regular booking site and compare location, price, and cancellation terms.

What Is “Juken-sei no Yado”? Nippon Travel’s Booking Page for Exam Candidates

“Juken-sei no Yado” is a page for exam candidates within Nippon Travel’s domestic accommodation booking site, and it has three ways in. Search by university name: 31 major universities are listed by name, from Hokkaido University, Tohoku University, the University of Tokyo, Hitotsubashi University, Waseda University, and Keio University to Nagoya, Kyoto, Osaka, and Kobe universities, and Hiroshima University, Kyushu University, and the University of the Ryukyus. Other universities can be found by initial syllable for the Tokyo area and Kansai. Search around the exam venue: you can choose accommodation-only plans or JR/Shinkansen + hotel and flight + hotel packages. Book with a brochure course code: available up to 5 days before the stay, with a separate ¥800 fee to mail the accommodation coupon.

The official page’s “Juken-sei no Yado highlights” include that one person can stay in one room; that you can choose no meals, breakfast, or dinner and breakfast; that some inns can prepare a lunch box for exam day (extra charge); that special selected hotel plans are offered; and that a total of 346 listings are sold online. Its “Exam Travel Guide” section also advises staying near the venue, booking early, and checking services such as whether there is a study desk and whether desk lamps can be borrowed. On booking, the page clearly states that minors need a parental consent form (downloaded from the page and submitted by fax or mail).

Table 1. What the official “Juken-sei no Yado” page states (checked November 1, 2026)
Item What the official page says (checked November 1, 2026)
Target users University entrance-exam candidates. Search for lodging by university name (31 major universities plus initial-syllable search) or by area around the exam venue
Where to book Nippon Travel’s official website (accommodation only / JR & Shinkansen package / flight package). In-store consultation is also available
Number of guests One person per room is accepted. Meal options: no meals, breakfast, or dinner and breakfast
Study environment Advises checking each property’s “Services” field for a study desk, desk-lamp rental, and similar
Bookings by minors Submit a parental consent form (download, then fax or mail)
Explicitly “for 2027 entrance exams” Not stated. Check the year shown on each plan and booking page
Booking start date Not stated. Check each booking page
Sample rates / cancellation policy Not stated. Check the booking screen for each property and plan
Perks (breakfast, late checkout, etc.) Not stated. Some area-limited plans are labeled “with perks exam takers will love,” but check each plan for details

Source: Nippon Travel, “Juken-sei no Yado / Hotel Yoyaku” public page (viewed November 1, 2026). This article covers only the Nippon Travel product whose details we could confirm on its official page. For exam-candidate plans from other travel companies, please check each company’s official website.

How It Differs from Regular Booking Sites and Hotel Websites, and When to Use Each

“Juken-sei no Yado” and regular booking channels (OTAs and hotels’ own websites) are not competitors. They are different ways in. The former’s strengths are that you can go straight from the university name, that it shows study-environment services, that it handles one-person bookings by the candidate themselves through the consent-form process, and that you can combine the stay with Shinkansen or flights. The latter’s strengths are more listed properties and a wider range for price comparison, immediate visibility of availability and cancellation terms by date on the booking screen, and access to exam-candidate plans that hotels near venues offer on their own. You don’t need to pick just one. The safe approach is to look up your target university on “Juken-sei no Yado,” check the same dates on a regular booking site, and compare location, price, and cancellation terms.

Table 2. “Juken-sei no Yado” vs. regular booking sites and hotel websites
What to look at “Juken-sei no Yado” (Nippon Travel) Regular booking sites / hotel websites
How you search By university name or exam-venue area By map, station name, or date. More listings
Study environment Services field shows study desks, desk lamps, etc. Check room photos, amenity lists, and reviews
Number of guests From one person per room. Bookings by minors handled with a consent form Easy to book under a parent’s name, either a parent and child in one room or one person per room
Combining with transport Packages with JR/Shinkansen or flights Mostly accommodation only. Transport arranged separately
Price comparison Check each plan’s rate on the booking screen Easy to compare several plans at the same hotel and nearby properties side by side

For Hongo, Ochanomizu, and Suidobashi, where venues such as the University of Tokyo’s Hongo Campus and Meiji University’s Surugadai Campus are packed together, Top 5 Hotels for Parents and Children the Night Before the January 16–17, 2027 Common Test (HotelPicks, in Japanese) picks five hotels for a parent-and-child stay and compares them in detail, down to breakfast start times and whether triple rooms are available.

Listed Rates for the Night Before the Common Test (January 15 and 16) at Four Major Venues

The 2027 Common Test for University Admissions (大学入学共通テスト) takes place on Saturday, January 16 and Sunday, January 17, so the nights before are Friday, January 15 and Saturday, January 16. The table below shows OTA listed rates near four major venues, compiled by the HotelBank Editorial Team as of November 1, 2026. For each property we took the lowest listed rate for 2 guests in one room, tax included, then show the lowest of those and the median. Note that these are not one-person rates. Check each booking page for single-occupancy rates.

Table 3. Listed rates for the night before the Common Test (within 2km of each campus, per room for 2 guests, tax included, collected November 1, 2026, N = number of properties)
Area (center) Night of stay Properties counted Lowest (per room, 2 guests, tax incl.) Median (per room, 2 guests, tax incl.)
Hongo, Tokyo (2km around UTokyo Hongo Campus) Fri, Jan 15 N=91 ¥6,900 ¥15,750
Sat, Jan 16 N=93 ¥9,000 ¥20,400
Sakyo Ward, Kyoto (2km around Kyoto Univ. Yoshida Campus) Fri, Jan 15 N=12 ¥4,500 ¥11,360
Sat, Jan 16 N=12 ¥7,200 ¥15,565
Toyonaka, Osaka (2km around Osaka Univ. Toyonaka Campus = in front of Osaka Airport) Fri, Jan 15 N=5 ¥6,600 ¥10,100
Sat, Jan 16 N=5 ¥6,800 ¥12,000
Kita Ward, Sapporo (2km around Hokkaido Univ. campus) Fri, Jan 15 N=100 ¥7,500 ¥15,400
Sat, Jan 16 N=96 ¥7,700 ¥20,230

Source: HotelBank Editorial Team research (OTA listed rates, collected November 1, 2026). Covers business and city hotels within a 2km radius of each campus. For each property we took the lowest bookable listed plan for January 15 and 16, 2027, then show the minimum and median of those rates. Capsule hotels, hostels, and properties showing as fully booked were excluded. Rates are per room for 2 guests, tax included, not single-occupancy rates. In Toyonaka, Osaka, the properties within range are clustered in front of Osaka (Itami) Airport. Listed rates change daily, so check the rate shown on each booking page when you book.

The table shows two things. First, in every area the median for Saturday the 16th is higher than for Friday the 15th: about 30–40% higher in Tokyo, Kyoto, and Sapporo, and about 20% higher in Toyonaka, Osaka. The median goes from ¥15,750 to ¥20,400 in Hongo, Tokyo, from ¥11,360 to ¥15,565 in Sakyo Ward, Kyoto, and from ¥15,400 to ¥20,230 in Kita Ward, Sapporo. So the stay before day 1 (the 16th) can be found in a lower price range than the stay before day 2. If you are sitting both days, booking the 15th and 16th as two consecutive nights at the same place saves you from moving. Second, the bigger the gap between the lowest rates and the median in an area, the more choice there is within the same walking distance. In Hongo, Tokyo, hotels around ¥10,000 are clustered on the Ueno/Okachimachi side, and in Kyoto there are reasonably priced options around Kawaramachi-Nijo and Sanjo. In Toyonaka, Osaka, five hotels in front of the airport, such as Toyoko Inn Osaka Itami Airport (東横INN大阪伊丹空港), keep the median around ¥10,000, and you can take the monorail to Shibahara-Handai-mae Station.

We have already covered when to book in our analysis of how early exam-night hotels sell out for the January 2027 entrance exams, room stock by campus in Exam-Night Hotels: 2,203 Rooms Near Kyoto Univ, Zero at Osaka Toyonaka, and the overall size of demand in Japan Common Test Hotel Demand: 4,600–23,200 Rooms per Night, so we won’t repeat them here.

Four Things to Check When Choosing Exam Lodging

1. Can you walk to the venue, or get there without changing trains? Nippon Travel’s official page also puts “stay near the exam venue” first. Walking distance, which is less affected by snow or train delays, is the first choice, and a station-front hotel on a single line is the next best. 2. One person per room, or two with a parent? “Juken-sei no Yado” accepts one person per room, and bookings by minors are handled with a consent form. If a parent is coming along, the 2-guest listed rates in the table above are a direct guide. 3. Study desk, desk lamp, and quiet. Check the services field on “Juken-sei no Yado,” or room photos and amenity lists on regular booking sites. The width of the desk and the lighting shape how you spend the night before. 4. Cancellation policy and booking steps. The official “Juken-sei no Yado” page does not state the booking start date or cancellation policy, so always check each plan’s booking screen. The consent form goes by fax or mail, so allow time for it to arrive.

For a Closer Look

For detailed comparisons of specific hotels, these articles go further (in Japanese).

Top 5 Hotels for Parents and Children the Night Before the January 16–17, 2027 Common Test: Hongo, Ochanomizu, and Suidobashi, Chosen for Quiet and Early Mornings Within Walking Distance of the Venues (HotelPicks)

In the area where the University of Tokyo Hongo, Meiji University Surugadai, Chuo University Korakuen, and Nihon University Misakicho campuses are all within walking distance, it compares five hotels, Hotel Niwa Tokyo (庭のホテル 東京), Kasuga no Yu Dormy Inn Korakuen (春日の湯 ドーミーイン後楽園), Richmond Hotel Tokyo Suidobashi (リッチモンドホテル東京水道橋), Ochanomizu Hotel Juraku (お茶の水ホテルジュラク), and Hotel Kizankan (ホテル機山館), on conditions that matter the night before: breakfast start time (one starts at 6:30), how many triple rooms there are, and an about 4-minute walk to UTokyo’s Akamon gate.

Five Business Hotels with 100+ Rooms Within a 7-Minute Walk of Hongo-sanchome, Korakuen, and Suidobashi: 19 Hotels Clustered in Bunkyo Ward, Mapping Business-Travel Supply for University Hospitals, Academic Conferences, and Printing and Publishing (innippon)

It lays out five hotels with 100 or more rooms within a 7-minute walk of Hongo-sanchome, Korakuen, Kasuga, and Suidobashi stations (Kasuga no Yu Dormy Inn Korakuen, Richmond Hotel Tokyo Suidobashi, Toyoko Inn Korakuen Bunkyo Kuyakusho-mae (東横INN後楽園文京区役所前), Hotel Kizankan, and KOKO HOTEL Korakuen (KOKO HOTEL 後楽園)) by walking minutes from the nearest station, room count, amenities such as free breakfast and a large bath with sauna, and a guide price per night for 2 guests.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q. What is “Juken-sei no Yado”?

It is Nippon Travel’s accommodation booking page for exam candidates. You can search for lodging by university name (31 major universities are listed by name, and others can be found by initial syllable for the Tokyo area and Kansai) or by the area around the exam venue. Besides accommodation-only plans, you can choose JR/Shinkansen + hotel and flight + hotel packages (checked November 1, 2026).

Q. Can the exam candidate (a minor) book on their own?

One person per room is accepted. A minor booking needs a parental consent form, downloaded from the official page and submitted by fax or mail. Allow time for it to arrive when you book.

Q. Where can I find the booking start date, cancellation policy, and perks for “Juken-sei no Yado”?

As of November 1, 2026, the official page does not state that it is for 2027 entrance exams, nor does it give the booking start date, sample rates, cancellation policy, or details of perks. Check the booking screen for each property and plan.

Q. When is the night before the 2027 Common Test, and roughly how much does it cost?

The test is on Saturday, January 16 and Sunday, January 17, 2027, so the nights before are Friday, January 15 and Saturday, January 16. Median listed rates within 2km of each campus (per room for 2 guests, tax included, collected November 1, 2026) are ¥15,750 / ¥20,400 in Hongo, Tokyo; ¥11,360 / ¥15,565 in Sakyo Ward, Kyoto; ¥10,100 / ¥12,000 in Toyonaka, Osaka; and ¥15,400 / ¥20,230 in Kita Ward, Sapporo (night of the 15th / night of the 16th). These are not single-occupancy rates, so check each booking page for one person per room.

Q. How should I choose between “Juken-sei no Yado” and regular booking sites?

“Juken-sei no Yado” lets you search by university name, shows a services field with things like study desks and desk-lamp rentals, and lets you add transport packages. Regular booking sites and hotel websites list more properties and make it easier to compare prices and cancellation terms side by side. Looking up your target university on “Juken-sei no Yado” and then checking the same dates on a regular booking site makes the choice easier.

References and Sources

■ Data sources

Product details (target users, number of guests, consent form, guidance on the services field, and items not stated) were checked on Nippon Travel’s “Juken-sei no Yado / Hotel Yoyaku” public page on November 1, 2026. Listed rates are HotelBank Editorial Team research (OTA listed rates, collected November 1, 2026).

■ Method

Covers business and city hotels within a 2km radius of the University of Tokyo Hongo, Kyoto University Yoshida, Osaka University Toyonaka, and Hokkaido University campuses. For each property we took the lowest bookable listed plan for the nights of January 15 and 16, 2027, then show the minimum and median of those rates. Capsule hotels, hostels, and properties showing as fully booked were excluded. N = number of properties counted.

■ Limitations

Rates are listed rates per room for 2 guests, tax included. They are not single-occupancy rates or actual transaction prices. Listed rates change daily, so check the rate shown on each booking page when you book. Toyonaka, Osaka has only 5 properties in range, so read its median as indicative only.

■ Official information



Related Articles

  • JNTO Announces March 2026 Foreign Visitor Arrivals to Japan Reached 3,618,900, Up 3.5% Year-on-Year and a Record High for March

  • Golden Week 2026 Hokkaido Hotel Price Analysis: Niseko +29% and the Drivers Behind the Surge in Sell-Out Rates

  • Post-Golden Week Hotel Prices Drop Up to 44%: Why Mid-May Is the Best Time to Book

  • Golden Week 2026 Hotel Price YoY Analysis Across Six Major Cities: Unpacking the Drivers Behind Kyoto (+20%) and Tokyo (+17%)